ENERGY STARĀ® Honors Kentucky Partnership

April 22, 2003

Photo of the two directors from DOE and EPA on the left presenting two managers of the Kentucky Division of Energy on the right with award plaque.
EPA Administrator Christie Whitman and Jim Powell (left), Director of the DOE Atlanta Regional Office present Kentucky Division of Energy Director John Davies and 2002 Program Manager Karen Wilson (right) with an ENERGY STAR 2003. (Credit: U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

The Kentucky Division of Energy received a 2003 Award for Leadership in Energy Efficiency from ENERGY STARB. for its activities in 2002 to promote energy efficiency among Kentucky citizens and businesses. Kentucky Division of Energy Director John Davies said at the award ceremony after receiving the award on April 15th, "By working with the ENERGY STAR program, we have been able to educate Kentuckians about affordable and energy-efficient options that save money while protecting the environment."

Kentucky became an ENERGY STAR partner in September 2001, and soon thereafter, ENERGY STAR became a major program for the energy division. Its 2002 activities were supported with some funding from DOE's State Energy Program.

Altogether, 39 businesses and organizations won awards at the April 15th ceremony, which took place at the Capitol Hilton Hotel in Washington DC. You can see also a list of the award winners online (PDF 26 KB). Download Acrobat Reader.