This is an excerpt from EERE Network News, a weekly electronic newsletter.

January 19, 2005

Energy Value Housing Awards Honor Energy-Efficient Builders

Twenty-four home builders were recognized at the International Builder's Show in mid-January for their efforts to make homes more energy efficient. The Energy Value Housing Awards went to builders in ten states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Idaho, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, and Texas. The winners built homes using energy-efficient practices such as pre-construction energy analysis, climate-specific selection of equipment and systems, and innovative air sealing and duct practices. The builders' homes also feature high levels of insulation, fluorescent lighting, high-efficiency heating and cooling, and solar hot water heating systems. Winners also built homes that earned outstanding scores from the Home Energy Rating System. The Builder of the Year award went to John Wesley Miller of Tucson, Arizona, who has been a leader in energy-efficient green building, building many solar homes and one "zero energy" home.

The Energy Value Housing Award program is managed by the NAHB Research Center, and operated in partnership with the National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) and DOE's National Renewable Energy Laboratory. See the NAHB Research Center press release and the Energy Value Housing Award Web page.