This is an excerpt from EERE Network News, a weekly electronic newsletter.

July 14, 2004

DOE's Regional Offices Change Their Names and Web Addresses

The six Regional Offices of DOE's Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy (EERE) have changed their names to better reflect the regions that they serve. The Regional Offices are the primary vehicle through which EERE develops state and local partnerships to promote the use of its technologies. Under the renaming, the Denver Regional Office is now the Central Regional Office, the Philadelphia Regional Office is now the Mid-Atlantic Regional Office, the Chicago Regional Office is now the Midwest Regional Office, the Boston Regional Office is now the Northeast Regional Office, the Atlanta Regional Office is now the Southeast Regional Office, and the Seattle Regional Office is now the Western Regional Office. As a result of these name changes, the Web site addresses for the EERE Regional Offices page and for each Regional Office have changed; if you own a Web site that links to any of these offices, please update your links. Each of the new links are followed by the name of the region, for instance: See the EERE Regional Offices Web page, which includes a map showing the states and U.S. territories served by the six Regional Offices.