This is an excerpt from EERE Network News, a weekly electronic newsletter.

May 01, 2004

University of Victoria Wins Hydrogen Fueling Design Contest

Energy Secretary Spencer Abraham announced on April 28th that the University of Victoria from British Columbia, Canada, is the grand prize winner of the first Hydrogen Fueling Station Design Contest. The University of California, Davis came in a close second in the contest, which was sponsored by DOE, the National Hydrogen Association (NHA), ChevronTexaco, Natural Resources Canada, and Swagelok Company. Seventeen teams from universities in the United States and Canada participated in the competition, which challenged the teams to address the technical specifications, environmental impact, safety issues, profitability, and education and marketing for a hydrogen fueling station. See the NHA press release (PDF 68 KB). Download Acrobat Reader.

The NHA is requesting suggestions for next year's contest, which will be called "H2U." See the preliminary H2U Web site.

DOE also challenged high school students on May 1st to design and build hydrogen-powered model cars. Using fuel cells and other components provided by General Motors Corporation, and with technical assistance from DOE engineers, 16 high school teams built model cars and competed in a speed race and a hill-climbing competition. University High School of Morgantown, West Virginia, took first place in the speed race and Chaska High School of Chaska, Minnesota, conquered a 48-degree incline to become "King of the Hill." The teams were drawn from finalists in the National Science Bowl, a national competition among high school students to answer increasingly difficult questions about science. This year, 64 teams visited Washington, D.C., as finalists after winning regional competitions in which 1,800 schools participated. On May 3rd, Thomas Jefferson High School of Alexandria, Virginia, took the first prize for the third consecutive year. See the DOE press releases from May 1st and May 3rd.