This is an excerpt from EERE Network News, a weekly electronic newsletter.

November 20, 2002

Scientific American Honors Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy Technologies

Scientific American magazine launched a new award on November 11th to honor "visionaries from the worlds of research, industry and politics whose recent accomplishments point toward a brighter technological future for everyone." The "Scientific American 50" Awards went to a wide array of inventors, but energy efficiency and renewable energy technologies fared extremely well. One of the most prestigious of the 50 annual awards, the Business Leader of the Year Award, went to Geoffrey Ballard, founder of Ballard Power Systems, Inc., chairman of General Hydrogen, and a leader in hydrogen-powered fuel cells for the past 20 years. See the magazine's interview with Geoffrey Ballard.

Other winners include Randy Howard of Cargill Dow LLC, which makes plastics from corn starch; Ken Deering of The Wind Turbine Company, which designed a new, efficient wind turbine; Manfred Stefener of Smart Fuel Cell AG, developer of miniature fuel cells; Eddie O'Connor of Airtricity, which guided Ireland's plans to build a large offshore wind plant; Spectrolab, Inc. and DOE's National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), which demonstrated solar cells with record-breaking conversion efficiencies; Hiroyuki Yoshino of Honda Motor Company, Ltd., who directed his company's progressive position on improving fuel efficiency and lowering emissions; Fran Pavley of the California State Assembly, who legislated carbon- dioxide emissions standards for California vehicles; and Cambridge Display Technology, which develops organic light-emitting diodes and flexible solar power panels. See the full list of winners and the press releases from NREL and Cambridge Display Technology.