This is an excerpt from EERE Network News, a weekly electronic newsletter.

June 20, 2002

DOE Awards $34 Million to 12 States for Home Weatherization

DOE awarded $34.4 million in weatherization assistance funds to 12 states on June 20th. Funds were awarded to Arizona, Georgia, Kentucky, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. In addition, DOE awarded $90,231 to the Inter Tribal Council of Arizona, which represents 20 tribes in the state. The funds will be used to improve the energy efficiency of the homes of low-income families in the 12 states. For every dollar spent, DOE's Weatherization Assistance Program returns $1.80 in energy savings over the life of the weatherized home, based on recent energy prices.