This is an excerpt from EERE Network News, a weekly electronic newsletter.

March 18, 2009

DOE to Invest $8 Billion in Weatherization and State Energy Grants

Photo of a woman wearing gloves and a hardhat, crouching in an attic to insert insulation between roof joists.

Weatherizing a home can involve a wide range of activities, including adding insulation to the attic. Enlarge this photo.
Credit: Karen Doherty, Ohio Department of Development

DOE announced on March 12 that it will invest nearly $8 billion in state and local weatherization and energy efficiency efforts as part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act. The funds will be divided between the Weatherization Assistance Program, which will receive nearly $5 billion, and the State Energy Program, which will receive nearly $3 billion. This will help families save hundreds of dollars every year on their energy bills, while creating approximately 87,000 jobs. To jump-start the job creation and weatherization work, DOE is initially releasing $780 million and will release more as the states demonstrate that they are using the funding effectively.

The State Energy Program funding will be used to provide rebates to consumers for home energy audits or other energy-saving improvements; to develop renewable energy and alternative fuel projects; to promote Energy Star products; to upgrade the energy efficiency of state and local government buildings; and other innovative state efforts to help families save money on their energy bills. The weatherization funding will improve the energy efficiency of the homes of low-income families by adding more insulation, sealing leaks, or modernizing heating and air conditioning equipment, at a cost of up to $6,500 per home. The energy efficiency upgrades will be available for families making up to 200% of the federal poverty level. For a family of four, this translates to about $44,000 per year in the lower 48 states, $55,140 per year in Alaska, and $50,720 per year in Hawaii. See the DOE press release, the Weatherization Assistance Program Web site, and the State Energy Program Web site.

DOE also announced specific funding levels for each of the states. DOE will award a total of roughly $127.3 million to Alabama, $46.3 million to Alaska, $112.4 million to Arizona, $87.5 million to Arkansas, $412 million to California, $128.7 million to Colorado, $102.8 million to Connecticut, $38 million to Delaware, $302 million to Florida, $207.2 million to Georgia, $30 million to Hawaii, $59 million to Idaho, $344 million to Illinois, $200.4 million to Indiana, $121.3 million to Iowa, $94.7 million to Kansas, $123.4 million to Kentucky, $122.3 million to Louisiana, $69.2 million to Maine, $113.2 million to Maryland, $177 million to Massachusetts, $325.4 million to Michigan, $186.1 million to Minnesota, $89.8 million to Mississippi, $185.5 million to Missouri, $52.3 million to Montana, $72.5 million to Nebraska, $72 million to Nevada, $49 million to New Hampshire, $192.4 million to New Jersey, $58.6 million to New Mexico, $517.8 million to New York, $208 million to North Carolina, $49.8 million to North Dakota, $362.8 million to Ohio, $107.6 million to Oklahoma, $80.7 million to Oregon, $352.4 million to Pennsylvania, $44 million to Rhode Island, $109.4 million to South Carolina, $48.2 million to South Dakota, $161.6 million to Tennessee, $545.7 million to Texas, $73.2 million to Utah, $38.8 million to Vermont, $164.1 million to Virginia, $120.5 million to Washington, $70.3 million to West Virginia, $197 million to Wisconsin, $35.1 million to Wyoming, and $86 million to Puerto Rico.