This is an excerpt from EERE Network News, a weekly electronic newsletter.

October 29, 2008

White House and DOE Present Awards for Federal Energy Savings

The White House honored energy management teams from four federal entities on October 23 with Presidential Awards for Leadership in Federal Energy Management, which honored the teams for their support, leadership, and work in promoting and improving energy use in their facilities. The teams included 44 federal employees and contractors that were collectively responsible for reducing the federal government's annual energy use by 3 trillion Btu—roughly equal to the annual energy use of 32,000 average U.S. households—for an annual cost savings of about $72 million. Teams from the Office of Public and Indian Housing at the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, the U.S. Marine Corps' Air Station Miramar, the U.S. General Services Administration's Pacific Rim Region office, and the U.S. National Archives and Records Administration were chosen for the awards. See the DOE press release.

In addition, DOE honored 22 individuals, teams, and organizations with Federal Energy and Water Management Awards for saving $28 million at federal agencies in fiscal year 2007 through their efforts to save water and energy. The awards went to individuals, teams, and organizations at DOE's Princeton University Plasma Physics Laboratory in New Jersey; the Tennessee Valley Authority; the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's Fort Meade Environmental Science Center in Maryland and Research Triangle Park Campus in North Carolina; the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs' VA Medical Center in Huntington, West Virginia; the U.S. Department of Interior's Woods Hole Science Center in Massachusetts, San Andres National Wildlife Refuge in New Mexico, and Ottawa National Wildlife Refuge in Ohio; the General Service Administration's Frederick Murphy Record Center in Massachusetts and Northeast and Caribbean Region office in New York; the National Aeronautics and Space Administration's Kennedy Space Center in Florida; the U.S. Air Force's Eglin Air Force Base in Florida, Moody Air Force Base in Georgia, Nellis Air Force Base in Nevada, and Charleston Air Force Base in South Carolina; the U.S. Army's Fort Hood in Texas; the U.S. Marine Corps' Air Station Miramar and Camp Pendleton in California; and the U.S. Navy's Ventura County Naval Base and Navy Region Southwest office in California, Naval Surface Warfare Center, Carderock Division, in Pennsylvania, and Naval Facilities Engineering Command in Washington, D.C. See the complete list of awardees on the Federal Energy Management Program Web site.

The Federal Energy and Water Management Award winners were selected from nominations submitted by 16 federal agencies for their efforts in the fields of water conservation, renewable energy, sustainable design and high performance buildings, vehicle fleet management, energy efficiency and energy program management, and exceptional service. DOE also presented 10 internal awards to DOE programs, teams, and individuals at the 2008 DOE Transformational Energy Action Management (TEAM) Award Ceremony. The TEAM Initiative, which began in August 2007, aims to reduce the energy intensity at DOE facilities nationwide by 30%. The 10 TEAM awardees have developed projects that, when fully implemented, will reduce DOE's energy intensity to 20% lower than its 2003 levels. See the DOE press release and the TEAM Initiative Web site.