This is an excerpt from EERE Network News, a weekly electronic newsletter.

July 18, 2007

Fifteen States Lead the Nation in Building Energy Star Homes

In 15 states, more than 12% of new homes are meeting Energy Star standards, according to the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). The 15 leading states are Alaska, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Iowa, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Texas, Utah, and Vermont. Nearly 200,000 new homes nationwide earned the Energy Star in 2006, bringing the total number of Energy Star-qualified homes across the nation to nearly 750,000. To date, these homes have locked in annual savings of more than $180 million for homeowners by saving over 1 billion kilowatt-hours of electricity and 100 million therms of natural gas. See the EPA press release and the EPA's statistics on Energy Star homes.

The Energy Star program is a joint effort of EPA and DOE. To earn the Energy Star, homes must be independently verified to be least 15% more energy efficient than homes built to the 2004 International Residential Code. They must also include additional energy-saving features, which typically make them 20% to 30% more efficient than standard homes. See the Energy Star-Qualified New Homes Web page.